RSS

Budapest II

06 Sep

A few days ago we came back from vacation. It was very exciting. This time I was well prepared for very long walks we planed to do, I bought comfy sport shoes. So the first part of vacation we spent in Budapest and the second part in..stand by for my next post :yes:

This time we had more time and visited a few more places (that are must-see) in Budapest and also enjoyed walking on our well-known paths.

Margaret island is a 2.5 km long island mostly covered by landscape parks, and is a popular recreational area. Its medieval ruins are reminders of its importance in the Middle Ages as a religious center. There is also a big aqua park there, Japanese garden, small zoo,..

We walked trough the famous Andrássy Avenue which links Erzsébet Square with the City Park, and next to the park is Heroes' Square.

We couldn't miss the Gerbeaud confectionery, I heard so much about it (we will miss it next time ;)). They have delicious deserts but they are expensive like hell.
I added more pictures to my album FIXTHIS Budapest.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Budapest II

  1. AnitaMargita

    September 8, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Mira, I'm glad you spent nice time in Budapest. 🙂 I saw new photos, they are great! :up::wait: for the next post… 😀

     
  2. gdare

    September 8, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    My first visit to Budapest in 1990. resulted in a long walks, as well. Then I've found out how cheap taxi was back then :doh: On my next visit same year, I payed 50 forint – it was less than 2 DEM back then – for a 2 hours taxi drive around the city. Plus a driver had a solid knowledge of English to answer some of my questions 😀

     
  3. studio41

    September 10, 2012 at 9:09 am

    "aqua park" curious to know what is featured there! I always enjoy a Japanese garden, they are so nicely manicured, pretty and peaceful.happy for your good times on vacation, Mira :happy:

     
  4. gyng

    September 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Quote from previous post : "I fell in love with Budapest and I can't wait to visit it again, plus we left some spots in our lists of things to see"I'm so happy that you've managed to visit Budapest again and that you had another chance to see all those places you've missed to visit last time :happy: Cookies look great :chef: 😀

     
  5. WinterForLady

    September 18, 2012 at 12:09 am

    @Anchy- Thank you very much and I am glad you like the photos :happy: @Darko- That was really cheap :up: Mi smo kupili markice i moze se reci da smo ih dobro koristili jer smo promenili puno prevoznih sredstava 😀 @Jill- Thank you very much :happy: I like Japanese gardens too 🙂 http://coachhirebudapest.co.uk/upload/article_files/29/Mogyorod%20Aquarena%20Aquapark.jpg@Gyng- Thank you very much :happy: Yes the cake was great but too expensive. I don't recommend Gerbeaud.

     
  6. studio41

    September 18, 2012 at 10:09 am

    a water park garden!

     
  7. gyng

    September 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Yesterday while in a shop I saw some Mozart balls, 300g in some nice box and they cost 2500 dinars :eyes: Some sweets are just too expensive :down:

     
  8. WinterForLady

    September 21, 2012 at 6:09 am

    @Jill- do you like to swim?@Gyng- Yes I know that Mozart balls are expensive. In Vienna we bought at Sisi museum some special praline with marzipan 130g cost some 5 euros. I guess that not so expensive for them as they have higher standards than we East Europeans.

     
  9. AnitaMargita

    September 21, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Originally posted by gyng:

    Yesterday while in a shop I saw some Mozart balls, 300g in some nice box and they cost 2500 dinars

    That's way too much to give for sweets, no matter if they are very decadent. Better to spend that money on some concert or some CD. Yes I have both of them in mind, just don't know what to choose… question is if I will choose one of them at all… :awww:Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    130g cost some 5 euros. I guess that not so expensive for them as they have higher standards than we East Europeans.

    I think that is not expensive even for us, comparing with Miss Gyng's recent find.

     
  10. WinterForLady

    September 21, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Yes I agree Anchy 🙂

     
  11. gyng

    September 22, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Originally posted by AnitaMargita:

    I think that is not expensive even for us, comparing with Miss Gyng's recent find.

    Well, as long as sweets cost up to 4 times their weight in dinars I'm ready to try them even if that means I would have to enter a candy shop and ask for 50g of them, and I did it few times 😀 …So I guess if pralines Mira has mentioned would've cost 4.5 euros I would buy them 😀 Kidding, I wouldn't let half an euro to stop me from trying some fancy pralines…

     
  12. studio41

    September 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    do you like to swim?

    I do!What is your favorite sport, Mira?

     
  13. WinterForLady

    September 23, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Swimming 🙂

     
  14. studio41

    September 25, 2012 at 10:09 am

    :happy: 😎

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

