RSS

Jafa kafa

10 Dec

During my recent visit to Serbia my mother asked me to go together with her and sis to Belgrade for a walk and some shopping. So we stopped by hotel Moskva to relax and drink coffee. Actually I don't drink coffee every day, just on some occasions. Me and sis ordered jafa coffee, which was excellent, and mom had Turkish coffee. I like very much the džezva which is a pot designed specifically to make Turkish coffee. This one looks more traditional than the ones we own.

In the evening we took the bus to go home. It was very crowded but that is something I am familiar with. Half way home the buses started to empty and we finally could sit down. I sat down next to one young woman. I noticed she is looking at me way too long. I looked back at her but I didn't recognize her. Then after a few minutes she addressed to me "Oh Hi Mira! How are you? What are you doing.." I was confused and I said to her that I am sorry but I don't recognized her. She said her name. We went together to primary school. That was 15 years ago. She recognized my voice. Later while talking with her I started to recognized the traces of her face and voice. It's been so long time. It was unexpected but nice meeting.
Later that evening when we were home I kept asking my parents how much did I change since then 😀

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

12 responses to “Jafa kafa

  1. gdare

    December 11, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Kafa…. Ever since we spent all the coffee I brought to Canada, we were trying to find something similar. There is some Greek brand that could be bought in an Iranian shop :left: but something is wrong with taste. It is not bad but….. Now I buy coffee beans and grind them myself, coffee is stronger but taste better 😀 :coffee:I know this is off topic but I just couldn't resist. Next time I go to Serbia I will bring few kilos back :devil:

     
  2. studio41

    December 11, 2011 at 9:12 am

    nice post, Mira 🙂 interesting to meet others from the past.love Turkish coffee 🙂 and the other specialty that you and your sis had looks delicious! what a treat!glad for your visit home.

     
  3. gyng

    December 11, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Hotel Moskva has the best jafa coffee in town 😀 I don't like meeting my old 'friends' from school, it's always too hard for me to pretend how I'm happy for seeing them, there are actually only a few people from my old schools that I enjoy meeting with… I think you haven't change too much as far as I can say from that old picture of you that you have on your blog…

     
  4. qlue

    December 17, 2011 at 4:12 am

    I once had a package of Turkish coffee! I enjoyed that but I've never been able to find anything similar since then! :awww: .

     
  5. gdare

    December 17, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Aadil, here in Canada I can't find anything similar – except something from Greece, but it didn't taste the same – now we buy coffee beans and grind it ourselves :chef:

     
  6. raniakasim

    December 22, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Oh Mira Turkish coffee , actually am drinking a cup now

     
  7. AnitaMargita

    December 31, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Mmm coffee… I like to drink it… I have never been at hotel Moskva, or I have but I don't remember as I was a small child then. Maybe I could drop by when I'm in BG…Anyway Mira, nice post. :up:Happy New Year! Wish you all the best! :cheers:

     
  8. studio41

    January 6, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Originally posted by AnitaMargita:

    Happy New Year! Wish you all the best!

    :heart: :hat: :coffee: Originally posted by raniakasim:

    actually am drinking a cup now

    :yes:

     
  9. WinterForLady

    January 6, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    @Darko- Which one do you like? Grand, Don cafe?@Jill- Thank you :happy: How do you like your coffee with sugar, milk, or?@Gyng- Originally posted by gyng:

    there are actually only a few people from my old schools that I enjoy meeting with

    I can say this for myself too 🙂 @Aadil- I didn't know it's hard to find Turkish coffee.@Rania- :coffee: How are you?@Anchy- Thank you :happy: Happy New Year to you too :heart: @Jill- Happy New Year Jill :heart:

     
  10. gdare

    January 6, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    We have found few shops in North Vancouver and Vancouver that sell some of Serbian food – ajvar, coffee, Medeno Srce :happy:, napolitanke, sour cabbage, bacon, etc. Right now we have 500g of Grand coffee :coffee:

     
  11. WinterForLady

    January 7, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Great :up:

     
  12. studio41

    January 8, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    How do you like your coffee with sugar, milk, or?

    I like french press, cold press (both with whole milk or cream) but, typically, I have dbl espresso w/ steamed milk :happy: "dry and as hot as you can make it!" Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    Happy New Year Jill

    :heart: I hope your new year is going well, Mira!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

