RSS

Traditional Romanian salad

01 Oct


I remember the first time I was at my husband's family. Back then I didn't know Romanian, just a few words. Dan was our translator, he speaks excellent English. I think I will never reach his level 🙂
His family made for us many diverse traditional foods and I liked them all. Especially eggplant salad. I never had an opportunity to eat it before. I learned that eggplants are very popular and appreciated vegetables here.
From time to time I speak on phone with Dan's grandmother and often ask her for advices about cooking. She is half Hungarian and she prepares also Hungarian dishes. For example, chicken meat with sour cherry sauce served together with potato puree :chef: My favorite.
The grandma told me how to make this salad.
Firstly I washed and cut in halves the eggplant. I put them on the baking sheet and bake them in the oven for approx 50 minutes. Then I waited for them to cool, then peeled off the skin. Then you have to wait 2-3 hours for the eggplants to lose their juice. To make this easier I kept lifted one corner of the pan they were in so the juice came out easier. After that you dry the eggplants with paper towel. Then I put the eggplants in the food processor together with one onion ( instead of onion you can use garlic, I like both versions) When they are mixed well I added 3 spoons of mayonnaise, a little bit of olive oil and a bit of salt. And it's done.
This salad you spread on bread and it goes perfect with fresh vegetables and cheese.
After baking the eggplants, you can also freeze some of them for the winter like I did.
Bon appetit! Pofta buna! Prijatno!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

21 responses to “Traditional Romanian salad

  1. AnitaMargita

    October 1, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Mmm… :chef: Mira, this looks and sounds delicious! I like to try traditional things from other countries, so I'll definitely try this. :up:The tablecloth with traditional motives you used, is very nice and matches perfectly. 🙂

     
  2. WinterForLady

    October 1, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Thank you dear Anchy 🙂 I am very happy that you like it :happy: I spent almost all day cooking, I made also zucchini pesto, and zucchini chocolate cake :up:

     
  3. AnitaMargita

    October 1, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    You are welcome, Mira. :heart: I see. Yum yum for both zucchini pesto and cake. :up:Zucchini chocolate cake sounds very interesting. How did you make it? 🙂

     
  4. thetomster

    October 1, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    :chef: eggplants … Teresia will like it, she likes them very much … and I know how it is being treated this way. just like in Indonesia where everyone comes up with some traditional food, recipe or meal that I had to try (immediately) … I guess they never thought about a European being so fond of their food 😀 … and I like that your traditional salad is without meat … ah, with onions and garlic, of course both! :chef:

     
  5. AnitaMargita

    October 1, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Thank you very much for the recipe, Mira. 🙂

     
  6. WinterForLady

    October 1, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    @Dirk- You can make so many dishes with eggplants 🙂 Are they popular in Indonesia too? I would like to learn some Indonesian recipe if Teresia shares here, I mean on her blog :up: @Anchy- :heart: I hope you will like it: http://raznajela.blogspot.com/2011/05/kolac-sa-tikvicama.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+JojiniIsprobaniRecepti+%28Jojini+isprobani+recepti%29

     
  7. studio41

    October 2, 2011 at 8:10 am

    I love eggplant and this is a wonderful dish! (I have eaten a variation on this.)How nice to visit with Dan's grandmother from time to time via phone for tips, recipes, and cooking advice!

     
  8. gdare

    October 2, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Eggplants are common vegetable in Serbia but we usually pan and fry it. This is a useful recipe :chef:

     
  9. WinterForLady

    October 2, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    @Dirk- How long have you been vegetarian? @Anchy- You are very welcome :)@Jill- Thank you :happy: Yes, she is a nice lady. Mutual respect is very important :up: @Darko- I am glad you like it :happy:

     
  10. thetomster

    October 2, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    🙂 Mira, eggplants are popular in Indonesia, according to Teresia … I will tell her about sharing recipes, I think she'd like to do :happy:hm, I'm 50 now, so I decided to be a vegetarian about 37 years ago 😀

     
  11. WinterForLady

    October 4, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Originally posted by gyng:

    I like how your salad sounds

    Thank you 🙂 Let me know if you try it :up:

     
  12. gyng

    October 4, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    zucchini chocolate cake

    This sounds strange 😀 Anyway, I like how your salad sounds, I think I'll try it 😀

     
  13. thaodp

    October 4, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Wow, it looks nice. I would like to try this for sure 🙂

     
  14. WinterForLady

    October 4, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Thank you Mit :happy:

     
  15. raniakasim

    October 6, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Mira i know this dish and we eat here a lot , try it with Arabian bread . for me Mira i consider that the resemblance in food recipes is a kind of cultural rapprochement and that explain why many of Romanian girl habituated with our life here , actually many of them live here in my town with their husbands .

     
  16. studio41

    October 9, 2011 at 8:10 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    Mutual respect is very important

    this is true… relationships go on much better this way!

     
  17. qlue

    October 15, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    So that's how to prepare brinjals! :sherlock: .

     
  18. WinterForLady

    October 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Easy, right? 🙂

     
  19. WinterForLady

    October 28, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Rania, interesting to know that 🙂

     
  20. gyng

    October 28, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    Let me know if you try it

    I've tried it…I think it's not a good thing to eat before going to town or meeting with some person 😀 Otherwise it's quite fine 🙂

     
  21. WinterForLady

    October 29, 2011 at 11:10 am

    😆 Glad you like it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

