RSS

Avala Tower

05 Aug

The Avala Tower is a 204.5 m tall telecommunication tower located on Avala mountain near Belgrade, Serbia. Construction of the original tower started on 14 October 1961 and was completed four years later in 1965. It was the only tower in the world to have an equilateral triangle as its cross section, and one of very few towers not perched directly into the ground, but standing on its legs. It was destroyed in a NATO bombardment on 29 April 1999. On 21 December 2006, the reconstruction of Avala Tower commenced and the tower was officially opened at a ceremony on 21 April 2010. It is currently the tallest structure in Serbia and the Balkan region.
This is how the old tower looked:

And this is how it looks now:

Reference, both pictures from above are from the Internet.

One weekend I went on the Avala mountain together with the family. We made a picnic. That was such a hot day but we found a place to sit down in the shade. It was a nice feeling to be surrounded with the high trees, to listen to birds, and happy kids playing around. There were many people, mostly families, some where just relaxing, other played cards and other games, some made barbecue,..I felt relaxed, but I feel this way almost every time I go in nature.

Later it was the time to visit the Tower. There are two lifts, and many people can fit inside at once. And after a few seconds we were up. The wind was strong but I didn't mind and I started taking the photos. We were all so excited.

Here is the panorama, click to enlarge:

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Avala Tower

  1. gyng

    August 7, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Nice post… I've never visited the old Avala tower but I remember it looked like a candle on the top of Avala which looked like a cake to me (I liked eating sweets when I was little, I still like it). But I've visited the new one, I like the fact I can see rivers Sava and Danube from the tower's top 🙂

     
  2. WinterForLady

    August 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Thank you :happy: I have photographs with the old Avala tower in the background :up:

     
  3. AnitaMargita

    August 30, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Nice post and beautiful view. :up: I have never been there, but I feel I must experience that view. 🙂

     
  4. WinterForLady

    August 31, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Thank you Anchy :happy: I am sure you would like it :up:

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

