RSS

Where have I been?

11 Jun

I've been to Šumadija 🙂
Šumadija is a geographical region in Serbia. The area is heavily covered with forests, hence the name šuma which means forest.

During the 18th century, the forests of Šumadija were the refuge for the Hajduks that fought against Ottoman occupation. The first Serbian uprising in 1804 was led by national hero Karađorđe. The second Serbian uprising in 1815 was led by Miloš Obrenović who successfully repelled Turkish forces and, by 1830, gained full autonomy for Serbia. Because of Miloš Obrenović's leadership, Serbia regained its independence, after centuries under Ottoman occupation.

Between 1922 and 1929, one of the administrative units in the Kingdom of Yugoslavia was the Šumadijska Oblast. It roughly included territory of present-day Šumadija district with its administrative seat in Kragujevac, which is the seat of the modern district as well.
I like this song and I think it's appropriate for this post, because it's about Šumadija.

We went by car to the mountain Rudnik. The name translates literally to mine, as the mountain is rich in mining resources.
Rudnik is a mountain in central Serbia, near the town of Gornji Milanovac. Its highest peak Cvijićev vrh, named after geologist and biologist Jovan Cvijić, has an altitude of 1132 meters above sea level.

I made one video, hope you will enjoy :up:

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Where have I been?

  1. gdare

    June 11, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Haven`t been to Rudnik in ages, last time when we had some kendo tournament organized in Ljig 😀

     
  2. WinterForLady

    June 12, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Would you like to go again? 🙂

     
  3. gdare

    June 12, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Well, yes, I guess. Maybe, if my wife comes again this summer. But if I got visa I will go to Canada 😀

     
  4. gyng

    June 13, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    I like the song very much :yes: And I love Šumadija, I guess it's my favorite part of Serbia 😀 Full of woods and brooks, hilly and it's also rich ground for growing vegetables and fruits… Perfect 🙂

     
  5. studio41

    June 15, 2011 at 4:06 am

    looks so lovely a place! glad you received respite there 🙂

     
  6. AnitaMargita

    June 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Seems you had a great time there, I'm glad. :happy:Thanks for the video. Lovely scenery. :up:

     
  7. WinterForLady

    June 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    @Darko- I wish you get the visa soon :up: @Gyng- :yes: Šumadija is my favorite part of Serbia too 🙂 Our small country is beautiful.@Jill- Thank you :happy: oh yes, I relaxed there :happy: @Anchi- Indeed I had a great time 🙂 Thank you :happy:

     
  8. studio41

    June 21, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    oh yes, I relaxed there

    :yes:

     
  9. gyng

    June 21, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    Our small country is beautiful.

    :up:

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

