RSS

Traditional Serbian song

07 Apr

Each time I listen to this song I have shivers, it's very beautiful. It makes you feel proud of our glorious history, but at the same time it's sad song.
It's about soldier going to war to fight with Turks and he is taking farewell from his beloved. He is aware that he probably will not return home..

Жали Заре

Жали Заре дa жaлимо како ће се раздвојимо,

ти од мене, ја од тебе, ја ће идем на далеко.

Ја ће идем на далеко, на далеко бело Врање,

ће се пишем у кумите, у кумите млад кумита.

Па ће узмем кралску сабљу и тој кралско све оружје,

па ће идем чк у Пчињу, чк у Пчињу Прешев-Казу,

па ће пређем Вардар воду, Вардар воду бш голему,

ће се тепам с тија Турци, с тија Турци Арнаути.

Жали, плачи да жалимо кт ће слунце да огреје,

кт ће слунце да огреје ти помисли од Бога је,

ти да знајеш тој је мојо, тој је мојо бело лице,

ти да знајеш тој је мојо, тој је мојо бело лице.

Кт ће ветар да подувне ти помисли од Бога је,

па ти рекни тој је моја, тој је моја блага душа.

Кт ће роса да зароси ти помисли од Бога је,

па ти рекни тој су моје, тој су моје дробне слузе.

Mourn Zare, let us mourn for we're going to separate,

you from me, me from you. I'm going far away.

I'm going far away, far away to white Vranye,

I'm going to join kumitas, join kumitas as a young kumita.

And I'll take a royal saber and all those royal weapons,

and I'll go all the way to Pchinya, all the way to Pchinya in the Preshevo valley,

and I'll cross the river Vardar, really deep river Vardar,

to fight those Turks, those Turk-Arnauts.

Mourn, cry, let us mourn. When the sun shines,

when the sun shines, think of it as a gift from God,

know it's my, know it's my pale face,

know it's my, know it's my pale face.

When the wind breezes think of it as a gift from God,

and say it's my, it's my mild soul.

When the dew falls think of it as a gift from God,

and say those are my tears, those are my heavy tears.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

15 responses to “Traditional Serbian song

  1. gdare

    April 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    Wow, I haven`t heard this one before. They sing in southern dialect, partially hard to understand, thanks for lyrics :up:

     
  2. WinterForLady

    April 9, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Originally posted by gdare:

    They sing in southern dialect

    Yes, you are right.Originally posted by gdare:

    thanks for lyrics

    my pleasure 🙂

     
  3. There2ia

    April 9, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Mira, even I don't understand the meaning but the music was touching so much… I wished no more war in the world but it must be only a dream… how their eyes talking more than what we can imagine or think… more … 😦

     
  4. studio41

    April 10, 2011 at 8:04 am

    very touching, Mira. and yes, beautiful. Joe commented from the other room, too, very interested to know what this was I was playing. "That is interesting, (or that is good,) what is it?" I will share the post with him. the message and reality that war brings to loves and hearts, and homes. moving and poignant, yet untouchable lest it happens to you.

     
  5. gyng

    April 10, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Almost each one of us goes through that period of life when he starts feeling sad for the things that happened to his nation… But I'm also proud of our ancestors… I remember how I was feeling when I was reading "Vreme smrti" by Dobrica Ćosić or "Na Drini ćuprija" by Ivo Andrić ( Она сцена са набијањем на колац ), I was almost crying… The same thing when I watch some documentary but then I feel really sad for any nation that is losing a battle that documentary is talking about. Actually I feel sad for the people and buildings or art not for the nations or countries…History is not good for me, I get too emotional…

     
  6. studio41

    April 11, 2011 at 4:04 am

    Originally posted by gyng:

    Actually I feel sad for the people and buildings or art

    yes, it is tragic how ideals, territories, lines, values (differing) can devastate families, individual lives, and all they have worked toward. I wish to add, worked toward to promote and protect life, liberty and happiness… but, sometimes that isn't cultural it to fight for these things… maybe cultural isn't the right word… there are wars that aren't only of ideals, but of territories- and then, devastation occurs as sides fight for what is believed to be theirs… always, it seems, with some manifestation of ruination.

     
  7. raniakasim

    April 12, 2011 at 10:04 am

    actually Mira my ancestor suffered form the same problem ( i mean the compulsory recruitment by Turkish )thanks very much for sharing this song

     
  8. gyng

    April 12, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I agree with you Jill :up:

     
  9. studio41

    April 14, 2011 at 10:04 am

    🙂

     
  10. studio41

    April 14, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Originally posted by raniakasim:

    compulsory recruitment by Turkish

    compulsory is most detrimental to the individual who, of his or her free will, cannot make a determination for himself or herself. forced compliance is very tough on the heart.

     
  11. WinterForLady

    April 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    @Teresia- Yes, their expressions are strong. I wrote translation of the song in English 🙂 @Jill- I am so glad you like it 🙂 Originally posted by studio41:

    the message and reality that war brings to loves and hearts, and homes. moving and poignant, yet untouchable lest it happens to you.

    :up: :up: @Gyng- I agree with you and in any war mostly innocent and ordinary people suffer the most. oh..i ja se secam te scene iz knjige, takodje sam plakala. @Rania- It was my pleasure 🙂

     
  12. AnitaMargita

    June 22, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Listening the sing made me feel proud of our glorious history, indeed. 🙂 It's not that I'm not proud of it generally… Just saying for this moment when I'm listening to it.Thanks for sharing, Mira. 🙂

     
  13. WinterForLady

    June 23, 2011 at 12:06 am

    I like to listen traditional, ethno songs :up: Yesterday I watched the last episode of "Moj rodjak sa sela" and Vranic told the story about our history which I heard for the first time. That Milos Obilic didn't kill sultan Murat :confused: and many other interesting things. I'll have to search for some more informations.

     
  14. gyng

    June 23, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    Vranic told the story about our history which I heard for the first time

    People like to tell stories… Especially fictional people… But sure, I'm looking forward to the results of your research 🙂

     
  15. AnitaMargita

    June 24, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    I like to listen traditional, ethno songs

    Me too. :)Originally posted by gyng:

    I'm looking forward to the results of your research

    I'll wait as well. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

