RSS

Dress code

23 Nov

Dress code is the unwritten rule of clothing as an aspect of human physical appearance. A person's clothing may give the indications of their gender, income, occupation and social class, political, ethnic and religious affiliation, attitude and attitude towards comfort, fashion, traditions,..

The way how we dress certainly has an important role in how other people perceive us. I think it also indicates our relationship with ourselves, the way we respect ourselves and others.

Some time ago I read an article about some incident when a woman was forbidden to enter a court of law because she was wearing slippers. She claimed they were an elegant slippers, but they are still slippers and thus inappropriate to enter in one such institution.

Then I also read about the people who complained they could not enter a bank because they dressed in shorts, spaghetti straps, short skirts,.. Many of them and people who commented on this issue said it's their money and they should be allowed to enter a bank how they want, even in panties 😆

I am against some strict rule about what is decent to wear and everyone should try to express themselves through their individual style, or they can also follow the actual fashion.

But people should be aware of what is decent to wear in different situations.
For example, if outside is over 30°C and your professor comes formally dressed then you should also do the same, that way respecting them, yourself and the institution where you came to learn.

Personally I never liked to wear too short shirts that show my stomach, even when I was a young girl. But this kind of dressing is quite properly if you are on a beach.

Today I went to the doctor, nothing serious, just check up, and there were some six people in front of me. I knew I'll have to wait long, but at least it's free if you have an insurance. So the ladies started to talk and one of them said to the other that she wants to give her an advice. The advice was that she should not dress so elegant when going to a doctor because a doctor may think that she is rich and if the doctor is a bad person.. may also asks for money or presents. She said the poorer you look the better for you, then we all laughed. But everyone reassured her that this doctor is not that kind of doctors. From my experience this doctor really likes her job, and is always positive and with a smile on her lips.

That lady who got the advice said that she always dresses that way, elegant, and in my opinion not exaggerated. Then I looked at myself, I had a jeans, brown shoes, a blouse, a coat and a brown purse, a quite decent I thought and kinda neutral. Well I don't want to dress in some clothes that look old or too cheap but neither I would put on myself two or three rings, and earrings and necklace and all golden 😀

 
20 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

20 responses to “Dress code

  1. qlue

    November 24, 2010 at 9:11 am

    'Formal' clothing was invented in a country where 30oC is a national disaster. :insane:.Wearing such clothing in Durban, South Africa in the middle of January during the day is suicide! :faint:.We generally consider 'dress code' to refer to specific rules and regulations concerning manner of dressing at work, school or other specific institutions. Our schools (primary and secondary level) have specific school uniform that must be adhered to. (although children tend to wear their uniforms in a somewhat haphazard way these days :p)Our banks tend to be somewhat libral with regard to customer's clothing, so long as the basics are covered. That would be shorts and tea-shirt for men or mini skirt skirt and bikini top for women. (or the other way round for those who prefer to challenge gender stereotypes)Our courts tend to be flexible as most defendants can't afford formal wear. Ethnic clothing is also tolerated. (I've seen people wearing strips of cow-hide as a loin cloth in court! :rolleyes:)Lawyers and Magistrates wear black robes in our courts over formal suits, however. :left:.Almost all shops have a prescribed uniform. And most men tend to wear overalls as the most employment is factory or farmwork. Some places do still have where archaic rules though. At racecourses, some areas are reserved areas where you may not enter wearing jeans. (but riding breaches are allowed! :rolleyes:)Doctors usually have a set consultation fee that includes some basic medicine. So the idea of wearing 'poor' clothes would be more a joke than a reality :p.Lawyers, on the other hand, are not so easy to fool. If you can afford a private lawyer, they reason, you're either very rich, or very important. Everyone else suffers along with 'legal aid'.(legal aid usually advices you to plead guilty so that the trial can proceed quickly. :irked:)Never trust a lawyer! :insane:.:lol:.

     
  2. studio41

    November 26, 2010 at 11:11 am

    I have become quite casual, but enjoy dressing up, too- even now, where I attend church, people wear jeans- come as they like. it is an affluent community, so many dress very fashionably… I don't bother with this, although I enjoy nice threads. -but definitely don't become too preoccupied with keeping up with the trends.I do believe modesty is important, but many do not. I haven't any problem comporting jewelry, but I find tattoos and many piercings quite overstated for any environment and don't understand 'why' of the trend/fashion. another thing that many disagree upon, is men with long hair. I find this fine- but, many conservatives, like myself, find it inappropriate, and unacceptable for the business environment…I believe dressing appropriately for the occasion, i.e., wedding, funeral, business meeting, etc., is important to do.

     
  3. qlue

    November 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I bet when Richard Branson walls into a board meeting sporting pony tails front and back, wearing bemuda shorts, an Hawaian shirt and sandals, businessmen grovel at his feet anyway. :p.

     
  4. gdare

    November 26, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    There is a saying in Serbia that "a clothes (a suite) are not making a person" – kind of hard to translate because the word "person" is used in a way that it may mean "human" too – but clothing can say a lot about a person wearing it. When I was younger I was always rebelling norms in clothing but I sterted to respect them as I was growing older.But I still prefer casual clothes, the ones that make me feel good 😀

     
  5. studio41

    November 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Originally posted by gdare:

    But I still prefer casual clothes, the ones that make me feel good

    with sword in tow?.. 😀

     
  6. gdare

    November 27, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    :whistle:

     
  7. studio41

    November 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    😀

     
  8. There2ia

    November 29, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    There is an Indonesian Proverb that how you dress up is showing how you respect others you want to see and how you respect yourself. I like casual clothes for daily activities but I don´t mind dressing up when there is a special moment or occasion.

     
  9. raniakasim

    December 2, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Mira for me i choose high quality clothes , i prefer dark colors ,like u i prefer to wear decent clothes , actually i believe in the following idea which says "only those who have no special qualities to be proud of show their flesh" .

     
  10. WinterForLady

    December 9, 2010 at 12:12 am

    @Aadil- Thank you for sharing these interesting informations :)In my opinion wearing a school uniform is a good idea, that would decrease differences between rich and poor children. @Jill- I agree about tattoos and many piercings too. Hmm men with a long hair..I don't like it 🙂 @Darko- Someone can dress in a nice, elegant clothes but if he misbehave it's all for nothing 🙂 @Teresia- That is true. I do the same, I like to dress up elegant for special occasions 🙂 @Rania- In Serbia we say I am not enough rich to buy cheap clothes. I believe it's true, better to buy rarely some quality clothes than more often some cheap one, which won't resist much.

     
  11. There2ia

    December 9, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Cheap clothes or not cheap ones? I like good material clothes and of course they are expensive so I have to deal with this one and so that is why I really like to shop when my favourite departement store has a discount. But here in Germany I am learning a new currency to know how to deal with it in the right ways.:)

     
  12. raniakasim

    December 9, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    i agree with u Mira ,here i know a proverb about buying cheap things , but i think it is better not to mention it here . 😆

     
  13. WinterForLady

    December 9, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    🙂 Teresia, not cheap ones, because if you buy cheap ones you have to buy more often. 🙂 I'm curious Rania, can you whisper it to me?

     
  14. Olgita

    December 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Some somments from me on the topic :)1. You can look elegant and wear elegant clothes even if you don`t have much money.2."too short shirts that show my stomach" – I think this is really ugly! i can accept that ONLY on the beach. Only. I wouldn't wear such shit to the club even :)3. we have dress code in our office but girl often don`t obey it. And that annoys me… Some of them say that they hate classic clothes… skirts, suits, blouses… As for me it is such a pleasure to dress for work… To look good for myself and colleagues who is around you.

     
  15. There2ia

    December 11, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Originally posted by Olgita:

    As for me it is such a pleasure to dress for work… To look good for myself and colleagues who is around you.

    Olga… That is the best part…

     
  16. raniakasim

    December 12, 2010 at 9:12 am

    i think it is better to tell u later 😆

     
  17. WinterForLady

    December 12, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Olga, I completely agree with you :up: and I love classic clothes.I saw the pictures of you at work, you dress professional but also feminine at the same time :up:

     
  18. WinterForLady

    December 12, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Ok Rania 🙂

     
  19. Olgita

    December 16, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    I saw the pictures of you at work, you dress professional but also feminine at the same time

    awww thank you but there is a problem when you have dress code at work your wardrobe consists of too many classic thing! white and blacknow i am on a long holiday and…my wardrobe completely different! 😆 I dont have any dress code clothes! ))))))

     
  20. studio41

    December 21, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Originally posted by Olgita:

    now i am on a long holiday and…my wardrobe completely different!

    😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

