RSS

Do you believe in horoscopes?

24 Oct

Do you really believe in astrology or are you just reading your horoscope for entertainment? Or you don't read about it at all?

I used to read my horoscope in magazines or listen on TV. Once I even borrowed a book to read more about it. I was in a high school. I must admit that it was interesting to me and it amused me. But as I got older I have changed and liberated myself from believing in such things.

I don't believe in horoscopes and now I don't read it anymore, not even for fun. It's a waste of time in my opinion. I think that a person who believes and tries to live their life by a horoscope can become depressed as he/she begins to see life predetermined since birth, with no opportunity to break free.

It annoys me when someone asks me what sign I am, or wants to read me my horoscope. Funny thing happened to me recently when a person told me that I am not at all like my horoscope sign, meaning I don't have the characteristics of personality I should have according to my sign. I don't know should I take this as a compliment or not.

What I am concerned about are the people who tend to judge us according to our horoscope sign without getting to know us better.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

22 responses to “Do you believe in horoscopes?

  1. gdare

    October 24, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Mostly for fun. Once I was in famous "Pingvin" radio station, very popular in Belgrade at the beginning of 90s. They had a short horoscope report every day and I heard a man shouting throug the offices:"Hey, what should I write for Libra today?" I choked laughing on that. I think that part of astrology that study movements of planets and their interaction is interesting but can`t tell if or what is their influence on our everyday life :left:

     
  2. thaodp

    October 24, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Sometimes I read horoscope for fun, too. That's all. I saw that many people tend to believe in horoscope, fortune-tellers when they are disappointed, failed,depressed…

     
  3. thetomster

    October 24, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    I've read horoscopes for fun … of course, I guess everybody else does this … for a while. and horoscopes or fortune telling on TV or in newspaper are a clever marketing strategy to get people … for whatsoever … but like Darko already said, the studies about planet movements are interesting and I guess they are serious enough if you can switch off the mythological background … all this is only a weak attempt to sort people in groups to manipulate them better. people might think about themselves in terms of their so called star signs and someone born under a special sign might recognize the own personality in what is written about it … but that's only what we want to see in ourselves not what others can see if we don't hide behind the masks in daily life … there are so many addicted to fortune telling games and horoscope related things … it always seems to me that they are giving up their own responsibility … and some might feel comfortable with being categorized in this ways … as long as they don't realize how much they limit their options with this in daily life … I'm born under a simple sign … it's called "human" 😀

     
  4. gdare

    October 25, 2010 at 10:10 am

    In old times people noticed that, even though they seem motionless, position of stars and planets are changing. I guess, they thought it was a sign from "the above" when on a speciffic day a child was born – then they could (or not) predict child's future….

     
  5. WinterForLady

    October 26, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    @Darko- Originally posted by gdare:

    "Hey, what should I write for Libra today?"

    😆 I agree, we don't know if there is and how they influence our everyday life.@Mit- That's so very true.@Dirk- Originally posted by thetomster:

    some might feel comfortable with being categorized in this ways

    I agree :up: Some people make a certain face or they say "Ah!" when they ask me and I say I'm capricorn 😆

     
  6. dantesoft

    October 26, 2010 at 5:10 pm

     
  7. gdare

    October 26, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    "You'll know you've picked the right wedding planner this week when he makes you list, from best to worst, your 10 favorite Rommel biographies.":doh: 😆 😆

     
  8. raniakasim

    October 28, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    i believe in one thing about horoscopes, i believe that people who belong to the same horoscope have common characteristics, i don't know why but i completely convinced about this idea

     
  9. WinterForLady

    October 28, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Thank you Dan :happy: I like this horoscope 😆

     
  10. studio41

    October 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I believe it to be a form of divination forbidden in the Bible. so I never read them. Deuteronomy 18:10-14hello my friend, Mira 🙂 ❤ Dan reads the Onion? wow! funny news travels fast!

     
  11. dantesoft

    October 31, 2010 at 7:10 am

    @raniakasim I'd suggest you read about all the proper studies on astrology, that show that:astrologers trying to deduce someone’s personality from their chart do no better than chanceastrologers studying the same chart come to opposite conclusions as often as notthe birth dates of people with occupations linked to certain signs (e.g., politicians, scientists, soldiers) are in fact randomly distributed throughout the zodiacpeople born at about the same time show no similarities on more than 100 different characteristicscouples with “incompatible” signs get married and divorced at the same rate as compatible couplespeople who want to believe in astrology will convince themselves it works no matter what@studio41 I watch ONN, too 🙂

     
  12. raniakasim

    October 31, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    so interesting , thanks Dan :love:

     
  13. gyng

    November 3, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I don't believe in horoscopes… But I do like to read them.. And I must admit it guessed that I'm going to an short travel this week xDD So there is a chance, one in billion that it will tell true…

     
  14. studio41

    November 5, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Originally posted by dantesoft:

    I watch ONN, too

    CNN?

     
  15. dantesoft

    November 6, 2010 at 9:11 am

     
  16. studio41

    November 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

    😀 I see

     
  17. WinterForLady

    November 21, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    Hello Jill :heart: Gyng, there is a chance 😀

     
  18. studio41

    November 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    :heart: hi Mira 🙂

     
  19. Olgita

    December 16, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I dont believe in daily horoscopes… but if i read them ever I try to think positive :)But I m a typical Aquarius…:)

     
  20. WinterForLady

    December 17, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I think you are a positive and a cheerful person :happy:

     
  21. Olgita

    December 17, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Thank you Mira… and you are so kind and warm :happy:

     
  22. gyng

    December 23, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    Gyng, there is a chance

    Well as that example from mathematics that there are same chances that the loto combination will be 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 or 21,3,26,10,31,5,15 (I wonder have I got the right combination 💡 )

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

