RSS

Travel

24 Sep

I am back after a short trip. I spent a pleasant time with the family. My mother was making the traditional food for winter ajvar. Ajvar originated in Serbian cuisine and is made with red peppers, eggplant, garlic and chili pepper. It can be sweet, spicy, or very hot. Ajvar can be consumed as a bread spread, a side dish, or as a salad. I offered to help in preparation. And I also brought one jar with me.
During my visit I met my dear friend. We spent one afternoon together, walking, talking and we ate some delicious food. Also that was the first time I tried tiramisu ice cream mmm..There were many people on the streets, they probably wanted to spend the last warm days of the year outside.
Before leaving home to go to meet with the friend I took the picture of this wonderful flower, and it's good I photographed it that day because next day the flower was closed. Maybe that is the way how nature reminds us that beauty is transient.
When I think of autumn my first associations are quince and chestnuts.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

15 responses to “Travel

  1. There2ia

    September 25, 2010 at 6:09 am

    I am happy you have spent your time with your family. Nicec gathering and meeting your dear friend…Nice flower, Mira and you must be lucky to have photographed it… Mira… I think now you enjoy the dishes you brought home… autum is coming soon and you are enjoy the nature changing… 🙂

     
  2. AnitaMargita

    September 25, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Glad you had a nice time, Mira. :heart:Beautiful flower and the photo. :up:

     
  3. WinterForLady

    September 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    @Teresia- thank you very much :happy: Yes, I'm enjoying the dishes I brought with me. Last time I brought tomatoes from our garden. Tomatoes from food stores usually don't have smell and taste like the ones from garden. At least here.@Anchi- yes, I did :heart: Thank you very much :happy:

     
  4. raniakasim

    September 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    spending times with family , meeting old friends ,a thing which i really miss 😦 any way i am happy for u Mira :heart:

     
  5. gdare

    September 26, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Ajvar :chef: :chef:

     
  6. thaodp

    September 26, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Very nice time you had :)I like the picture :up:

     
  7. Olgita

    September 26, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I love baked chestnuts 😆 mmmmm 🙂

     
  8. Olgita

    September 26, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    ajvar reminds me one Turkish dish… almost the same!

     
  9. There2ia

    September 27, 2010 at 7:09 am

    You are right, Mira. When I was a child we had garden and my mother grew tomatoes… I like the smell of the fresh tomatoes and also the smell when we are around the tomatoes tree… wondering I will have a chance to grow some trees… 🙂

     
  10. WinterForLady

    September 29, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    @Rania- It looks to me that you are pretty busy, but I hope you will soon have a time to visit family and friends. Thank you dear friend :heart: @Darko- Next time i go to Serbia I will bring more ajvar :chef: @Mit- Indeed 🙂 Thank you :happy: @Olga- I am gonna try baked chestnuts 🙂 I like chestnuts puree :chef: What is the name of that Turkish dish? Originally posted by Olgita:

    almost the same!

    Serbian cuisine is influenced by Turkish cuisine :)@Teresia- I love the smell of tomatoes too :happy: I think you will have a chance..there is a nice garden waiting for you in Germany :heart:

     
  11. There2ia

    September 29, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Yes, We will see and If have got tomatoes tree it will be a special blogpost then,… 🙂

     
  12. Olgita

    October 1, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    What is the name of that Turkish dish?

    abuganuch…. something like that… i think it is arabic name…or eggplant salad 🙂

     
  13. qlue

    October 1, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Brinjals are popular here. But strange enough, My late Mom never served them in any form. :left:.

     
  14. studio41

    October 5, 2010 at 8:10 am

    "Maybe that is the way how nature reminds us that beauty is transient." beautiful stated, Mira Isaiah 40:8 is a favourite verse of mine.how nice to be with your family and your dear friend. very pretty picture, by the way.the quince flower is absolutely glorious, soft, delicate.

     
  15. raniakasim

    October 13, 2010 at 10:10 am

    ya Mira i am so busy and tired 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

