RSS

The Internet

23 May

‘And how did you get in my house?’
This comic gave me a lot of laughs. It's a part of our online life. There are a few blogs, on different sites, I subscribed to and I'm reading, "following" them. Naturally people start to reveal and share more and more from their life. You look at their pictures, you get to know what activities they do, hobbies, how they spend their free time, and while you're reading other people's blogs you begin to understand their everyday's life. If the blog owner is offline for some period, without letting his readers know the reason of their absence, their loyal readers will start to worry that something happened to them. I'm speaking from my own experience.
I have one more thing to add. These blogs I subscribed to are not from My Opera and I'm just reading what they write, I don't leave comments. So they don't even know me. That's why I found it some kinda funny when I worry when they make a pause in bloging.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

9 responses to “The Internet

  1. gdare

    May 23, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I have some very good friends on My Opera now – I am about 4 years here – and I will never leave without saying goodbye. Hopefully it will not happen for a long time. Even if things happen beyond my control, there will be someone who will inform people here what happened.I love my friends.

     
  2. thetomster

    May 23, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    :up: well said, Darko … it's not so different from the so called "real Life" … in many ways it's more real than anything else.;) Mira … I'm wondering for nearly 2 years where a very good friend of mine has gone … and even if I won't give hope … it affects me each time I see his user picture here … at least if I open my friends list …

     
  3. WinterForLady

    May 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    I have just updated the post 🙂

     
  4. WinterForLady

    May 24, 2010 at 12:05 am

    @- Darko, I'm glad that you found very good friends here :)I would do that too, even if there are just one or two friends who would care 🙂 @- Dirk, I agree that it's not so different from real life. We can find friends here, but in my opinion you can never be 100% sure in that person until you meet her/him in reality 😀

     
  5. qlue

    May 24, 2010 at 7:05 am

    I've learnt to accept that sometimes people disappear here! :awww:.Sometimes they just get tired or bored with online life, sometimes things happen that we never hear about! :left:.

     
  6. AnitaMargita

    May 24, 2010 at 8:05 am

    I like the comic a lot. 😎 It matches excellent to the text.Mira, I also think it is nice to tell your readers (especially loyal ones) you will be absent from blogging for some time. :up:Oh, yes you are right, it is not important how much friends you have on your list, what matters is the quality of the relationship (to get to know each other, be in touch: by commenting on each others blogs, sending PM-s…). 🙂

     
  7. thetomster

    May 24, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Originally posted by MirabelaTM:

    … until you meet her/him in reality

    I agree … of course I do, the more I like it when people here meet in their real lives … the more people really meet each other the more special this community becomes … it's a already very pleasant way learning about each others in the blogs here, and comments as well as PM are a good way getting closer … I really hope for meeting more people in real :up:Originally posted by qlue:

    I've learnt to accept that sometimes people disappear here! .

    yeah, Aadil, I'm getting more and more used to … 'though in real life I would avoid this … but the digital life is limited in this way … a way to protect people and on the other hand surely a way to make us feel vulnerable from time to time :)Originally posted by AnitaMargita:

    it is not important how much friends you have on your list

    😉 it never was important to me, but the people on the list themselves … they are really important to me :up:

     
  8. thaodp

    May 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I like the comic :up:

    their loyal readers will start to worry that something happened to them

    yes, I know this feeling. it's more difficult when nobody can tell you anything about them.Online friends are not illusion for me 🙂 My friends on My Opera have helped me get over from one of the most difficult times in my life.

     
  9. WinterForLady

    May 26, 2010 at 1:05 am

    @Aadil- I agree 🙂 Once when I was concerned about loosing contact with some old friends, one friend here from MyO told me if there is an emotional connection between you two that will never happen, you can't lose a contact with a friend 🙂 @Anchi- Thank you very much, dear :happy: Originally posted by AnitaMargita:

    what matters is the quality of the relationship

    I agree 🙂 Uvek kažem, mala grupa ali odabrana :happy: @Dirk- Originally posted by thetomster:

    I really hope for meeting more people in real

    Me too, hopefully :happy: This is really special community.@Mit- I am so glad you like it :happy: I take it seriously online friendship, just like in "real" life. I am happy that friends helped you 🙂 It's good that you opened your heart to them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Humanity in Syria is at risk

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

daily or thereabouts...

daily fray may keep me away...

tomboys|don't|cry

~ someday never comes ~

Jill Gallery

Photo of the Week or Thereabouts - A compression of our days. Sometimes just a theoretical snapshot.

gdare

Walking over sky, following a bird...

Mit's blog

Daily life

Chrysopeleia

The story of my dreams coming true

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

